On a bit of a whim, headed out to Chicago this weekend to catch a performance of the Wayne McGregor | Random Dance Company from London.

The company was in residence with ArtPower! at UC San Diego (the presenting organization that I work for) last year in January and February, 2009.  As the coordinator of the project, I developed a close friendship with the dancers and decided that while they were in the States on the current tour, I’d might as well meet them halfway and visit a city that I’ve become quite fond of over the years.

Arriving at midnight on Friday night and through my departure on Sunday, it was a weekend of good friends, food, drink and dance – from the company’s performance of Entity to the clubs that followed into the wee mornings.  Once again, allowing dance (and those who create, perform, and love it) to take me to unexpected places at unexpected times.

